20 replies to this topic

#1 collgan

collgan

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 07 December 2015 - 08:00 PM

Hey All,

Thought I would start a topic following my journey as a gun dog owner.

My father was a big hunter but as things happen myself and my sister was born, his buddies got married and moved away so he stopped hunting but kept his guns. I was born and raised in HRM and was never exposed to hunting due the fact dad gave it up. As a child I was exposed by my parents to the outdoors, science, the environment and especially fishing. Following that early exposure/interest into adulthood I graduated from Dalhousie with a B.Sc. of Environmental Science. I was able to find a job in my field but was moved to the southern end of the province. Mom was after my father to get rid of his guns since they weren't being used and she felt there was no need for them. I saw this as an opportunity as now that I lived in a rural area there wasn't much else to do and mom was looking to get rid of the guns. Through conversation/argument as only a father (giving up his prized possessions) and son can have (with mothers’ intervention of course) the guns finally made the 2 hour trek to my new residence.

The guns arriving couldn't have come at a better time. My wife was diagnosed with cancer in her mid-20's (surgery cleared it for now & hopefully forever). Having been diagnosed so young led us to look at our lifestyle and changes we could make. One of the potential sources was cleaning up our diet so naturally living in a rural area and following my interest we looked into wild game as a healthier meat source. Less GMO's, less chemicals, antibiotics, hormones etc.